MTech/ME
Exams Accepted
—
Total Fees
₹1.4 L

Tiruchirappalli
Updated on
One JoSAA process fills all nine NIT Trichy B.Tech branches, but the branches do not share the seats equally. JoSAA 2026 gave Chemical and Metallurgical and Materials 79 seats each. CSE got 119 seats, which is 12.1 percent of the 981 B.Tech seats. This guide to NIT Trichy courses 2027 lists each degree with its entry route, seats and 2026 fee.
NIT Trichy courses fall into three groups: undergraduate, postgraduate and research. The institute has 17 departments. B.Tech and B.Arch lead the undergraduate group. M.Tech leads the postgraduate group with 25 specialisations. Pick the tab that matches your stage. Each tab names the NIT Trichy courses for that stage.
B.Tech is the main course in nine branches. You enter through JEE Main and JoSAA. B.Arch needs a JEE Main Paper 2 rank. B.Sc B.Ed (ITEP) is a four-year teaching degree, and you enter through NCET.
NIT Trichy courses number 10 UG programmes and 31 master programmes, as per the Institute Day 2026 report. The programmes page of nitt.edu lists 34 master lines: 25 M.Tech specialisations, M.Arch, M.Plan, four M.Sc subjects, MBA, MCA and MA English. The report therefore counts the NIT Trichy courses in a different way. Use the page for the exact list.
9
B.Tech Branches
Eight semesters, JoSAA 2026
1,038
JoSAA Seats
981 B.Tech and 57 B.Arch seats
25
M.Tech Specialisations
Programmes page, October 2026
17
Ph.D. Areas
Programmes page, October 2026
CSE is the strongest of the NIT Trichy courses by closing rank and by 2025-26 placement share. It closed at 1,373 (Other State) and 4,015 (Home State) in JoSAA 2026 round 5. The best branch for you depends on your rank, because CSE has only 119 seats. The NIT Trichy cutoff page lists every branch.
To join NIT Trichy courses after Class 12, write JEE Main, fill your choices in JoSAA and report to the institute after allotment. B.Sc B.Ed is the exception, because it uses NCET. The NIT Trichy admission page explains each step.
The flagship course at NIT Trichy is B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering, and B.Arch is the second pick. CSE has the lowest closing ranks of all NIT Trichy courses in B.Tech. B.Arch ranks 9th in NIRF Architecture 2025.
💻FlagshipB.Tech Computer Science and EngineeringClosed at rank 1,373 for Other State and 4,015 for Home State in JoSAA 2026 round 5. It has 119 of the 981 B.Tech seats. 88.9% of registered students were placed in 2025-26.See NIT Trichy Fees🏛️Also NotableB.Arch ArchitectureRanked 9th in NIRF 2025 Architecture. JoSAA 2026 lists 57 seats. The T&P page shows all registered B.Arch students placed in 2025-26.See NIT Trichy AdmissionThe Institute Day 2026 report places Computer Science in the QS 751-850 subject band. The band is shared with Computer Applications, so it is a broad figure for these NIT Trichy courses. Electrical and Mechanical Engineering sit in the 401-450 band. Check the NIT Trichy fees and the NIT Trichy placements before you choose a branch.
The NIT Trichy courses list below names each degree, its length and the exam you need. NIT Trichy UG courses use JEE Main or NCET. NIT Trichy PG courses use GATE, IIT JAM, CAT, NIMCET or CUET PG. This list of courses in NIT Trichy follows the programmes page of October 2026.
| NIT Trichy courses list | Duration | Entry through |
|---|---|---|
| B.Tech (9 branches) | 8 semesters | JEE Main, JoSAA and CSAB |
| B.Arch | 10 semesters | JEE Main Paper 2, JoSAA and CSAB |
| B.Sc B.Ed (Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics) | 8 semesters | NCET |
| M.Tech (25 specialisations) | 4 semesters | GATE, CCMT |
| M.Arch (Energy Efficient and Sustainable Architecture) | 4 semesters | GATE, CCMT |
| M.Plan (Urban Planning) | 4 semesters | CCMT |
| M.Sc (Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics) | 4 semesters | IIT JAM, CCMN |
| MBA | 6 trimesters | CAT, then interview |
| MCA | 6 semesters | NIMCET |
| MA English | 4 semesters | CUET PG |
| PG Diploma in Health Care Technology | 2 semesters | NIT Trichy written exam |
| M.S. by Research, Ph.D. | Set by the department | Department selection |
The NIT Trichy PG Diploma admission page lists a one-year PG Diploma in Health Care Technology with 40 credits. The Department of Instrumentation and Control Engineering runs it with Kauvery Medical Care. It has 30 seats, and selection is by an NIT Trichy written exam. You need 60% marks or 6.5 CGPA in the qualifying degree, or 55% or 6.0 CGPA for SC, ST and PwD candidates. A Post Doctoral Fellowship (MeitY) is also listed in the admissions menu of nitt.edu.
NIT Trichy offers nine B.Tech branches of eight semesters each, and CSE has the most seats at 119. The table gives the seats of these courses in NIT Trichy for JoSAA 2026. The B.Tech branches are the largest of all NIT Trichy courses. Each branch splits its seats between Home State (Tamil Nadu) and Other State candidates.
| Branch in NIT Trichy courses | Seats | Home State and Other State |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science and Engineering | 119 | 60 and 59 |
| Civil Engineering | 118 | 59 and 59 |
| Mechanical Engineering | 118 | 59 and 59 |
| Production Engineering | 118 | 59 and 59 |
| Electronics and Communication Engineering | 117 | 58 and 59 |
| Instrumentation and Control Engineering | 117 | 58 and 59 |
| Electrical and Electronics Engineering | 116 | 58 and 58 |
| Chemical Engineering | 79 | 40 and 39 |
| Metallurgical and Materials Engineering | 79 | 40 and 39 |
| B.Arch Architecture | 57 | 29 and 28 |
JoSAA also keeps female-only seats inside every branch of these NIT Trichy courses. They are 211 of the 1,038 seats, or 20.3 percent.
No AI or Data Science B.Tech Branch
The JoSAA 2026 seat matrix lists nine B.Tech branches and none is in Artificial Intelligence or Data Science. Among NIT Trichy courses, the institute offers M.Tech Data Analytics and a joint online M.S. in Data Science and Artificial Intelligence instead.
NIT Trichy courses in M.Tech cover 25 specialisations, and each runs for four semesters. Engineering Design and Water Resources Engineering and Management are new in 2026-27. M.Tech also has a sponsored category.
Yes, in outline. NIT Trichy courses link to exchange routes through MoUs, but the institute does not publish seats, eligibility or credit-transfer rules. Its Global Academic and Research Networking Centre promotes 3+1+1 and 3+1+2 pathways for undergraduates and semester-abroad programmes for postgraduates. NIT Trichy signed an MoU with the University of William and Mary in January 2026 for faculty and student exchange. It also signed an MoU with the Illinois Institute of Technology. The describes these routes. Ask the Office of International Relations for the current partner list and seat count.
Yes. MCA is one of the PG NIT Trichy courses. It runs for six semesters and you enter through NIMCET. The total fee is ₹3,43,550 for the 2026 batch.
Yes. It is one of the UG NIT Trichy courses, the four-year Integrated Teacher Education Programme with majors in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. You enter through NCET. The 2026-27 brochure lists 50 seats across the three majors.
Three NIT Trichy courses are new: M.Plan, M.Tech in Engineering Design and M.Tech in Water Resources Engineering and Management. The Institute Day 2026 report lists them as new for 2026-27.
Showing 1–5 of 5 courses
DegreeChemical Engineering
Two-year full-time M.Tech. Chemical Engineering at National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli.
DegreeComputer Science Engineering
Official programme at Institute ID 51; total tuition fee shown for full published duration.
DegreeEnergy Engineering
Two-year full-time M.Tech. Energy Engineering at National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli.
DegreeEnvironmental Engineering
Two-year full-time M.Tech. Environmental Engineering at National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli.
DegreeStructural Engineering
Two-year full-time M.Tech. Structural Engineering at National Institute of Technology Tiruchirappalli.
The programmes page lists no online degree among NIT Trichy courses, but students take NPTEL-SWAYAM online courses. The institute runs an NPTEL-SWAYAM channel with a registration form and a list of courses for each session. The Institute Day 2026 report gives it a Triple A rating, as one of twenty top-performing institutes. Registrations were 2,153, then 2,953 and 2,773 in three sessions.
The Joint Online M.S. Is Not on the NIT Trichy Programmes Page
Illinois Tech lists a joint online M.S. in Data Science and Artificial Intelligence with NIT Trichy. nitt.edu does not list its seats, fee or entry rules. Ask both institutes before you apply.
No degree among the NIT Trichy courses on the programmes page is online. The one online degree route is the joint M.S. in Data Science and Artificial Intelligence with the Illinois Institute of Technology. Illinois Tech describes it as an asynchronous online programme of 30 credits, finished in two years. Both institutes award the joint degree. nitt.edu gives no admission rules for it.
NIT Trichy courses eligibility depends on the degree, and B.Tech needs 75 percent in Class 12 or a place in your board's top 20 percentile. SC, ST and PwD candidates need 65 percent. The set this rule. The rules for NIT Trichy courses below are for the 2026 cycle, because the 2027 brochures are not out.
Yes. NIT Trichy courses in B.Tech and B.Arch need 75 percent in Class 12, or 65 percent if you are SC, ST or PwD. A place in the top 20 percentile of your board also qualifies you. B.Sc B.Ed, one of the NIT Trichy courses, needs only 50 percent in its 2026-27 brochure.
NIT Trichy degree courses fees run from ₹1,30,100 for M.Sc and MA to ₹8,25,550 for B.Arch, as a total for the 2026 batch. The table gives NIT Trichy courses fees for Open, EWS and OBC-NCL students. SC and ST students pay no tuition. The one-year PG Diploma in Health Care Technology costs ₹1,29,650 in total. The NIT Trichy fees page gives the semester split.
| NIT Trichy courses (2026 batch) | Total over the course | Tuition per semester |
|---|---|---|
| B.Tech | ₹6,63,750 | ₹62,500 |
| B.Arch | ₹8,25,550 | ₹62,500 |
| B.Sc B.Ed | ₹5,63,750 | ₹50,000 |
| M.Tech and M.Arch | ₹2,40,100 | ₹35,000 |
| MBA | ₹2,91,700 | ₹35,000 |
| MCA | ₹3,43,550 | ₹35,000 |
| M.Sc and MA | ₹1,30,100 | ₹7,500 |
| PG Diploma in Health Care Technology | ₹1,29,650 | ₹30,000 |
₹6,63,750
B.Tech Total
Eight semesters, 2026 batch
₹8,25,550
B.Arch Total
Ten semesters, 2026 batch
₹2,40,100
M.Tech Total
Four semesters, 2026 batch
No. The fee of NIT Trichy courses depends on the degree and on the number of semesters. Every B.Tech branch costs the same, so CSE and Civil have one fee. Families with income below ₹5 lakh get tuition remission in B.Tech and B.Arch. Tuition is nil for SC, ST and PwD students in every one of the NIT Trichy courses.
NIT Trichy courses duration is four years for B.Tech and five years for B.Arch. Most PG NIT Trichy courses run for two years, and MCA takes three. The table counts semesters as the programmes page does.
| NIT Trichy courses | Duration | Semesters |
|---|---|---|
| B.Tech | 4 years | 8 |
| B.Arch | 5 years | 10 |
| B.Sc B.Ed | 4 years | 8 |
| M.Tech, M.Arch, M.Plan, M.Sc, MA | 2 years | 4 |
| PG Diploma in Health Care Technology | 1 year | 2 |
| MBA | 2 years | 6 trimesters |
| MCA | 3 years | 6 |
| M.S. by Research | Not stated | 6 on the fee sheet |
| Ph.D. | Not stated | 10 on the fee sheet |
The MBA Has Six Trimesters but Four Fee Columns
The department's MBA FAQ for 2026 and the programmes page say the MBA has six trimesters. The 2026 fee sheet lists four columns, labelled semester I to IV. No official paper maps one to the other. Ask fees@nitt.edu how the fee splits before you plan payment.
The NIT Trichy B.Tech is a four-year course with eight semesters. It is shorter than B.Arch, which has ten. Classes for the 2026 batch began on 27 August 2026. The B.Tech fee is charged for eight semesters, and the B.Arch fee for ten.
Answers to what readers ask most often.
No. The JoSAA 2026 seat matrix lists nine B.Tech branches and none is an AI branch. M.Tech Data Analytics is the nearest PG route among NIT Trichy courses. Data Sources: JoSAA 2026 seat matrix and NIT Trichy programmes page.
Yes. The MBA is a full-time two-year course among NIT Trichy courses. You apply with a CAT percentile, and shortlisted candidates face an interview. The 2026 brochure set the application fee at ₹1,550, or ₹1,050 for SC, ST and PwD candidates. Data Sources: NIT Trichy MBA information brochure 2026.
Yes, through the sponsored category. Tuition for the sponsored M.Tech is ₹70,000 a semester in the 2026 fee sheet. The 2026-27 sponsored brochure on nitt.edu asks for two years of work experience. Data Sources: NIT Trichy M.Tech fee sheet 2026 and admission page.
Yes. The M.Sc is one of the NIT Trichy courses, with four subjects: Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics. It runs for four semesters and uses IIT JAM through CCMN. The 2026 fee is ₹1,30,100 in total. Data Sources: NIT Trichy programmes page and M.Sc fee sheet 2026.
Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu
Taking an exam, selecting a college
Find insights & recommendations on colleges and exams that you won't find anywhere else
Sign Up & Get Started