Updated on
By Atul Harsha, Content Manager
CAT 2026 registration via the Official IIM CAT Website closed on September 22, 2026. In case you have made any mistakes while filling the form, don't miss form correction window on 5th and 6th October, 2026 for application correction window. During this period you can edit your photograph, signature, and change your test city preferences.

If you missed the CAT 2026 registration deadline on September 22, 2026, you cannot register or appear for the CAT exam this year, as IIMs do not offer a late registration window.
Once CAT 2026 registration closed, exactly three fields stayed open for correction: photograph, signature, and preferred test city. Category is not on that list. IIM Indore's Information Bulletin states this directly. Once a candidate submits their category, they cannot edit it afterward, for any reason, at any later stage. That is the one constraint every CAT 2026 candidate genuinely needed to get right before hitting submit. It mattered more than the deadline reminder or the fee amount.
That constraint made CAT 2026 registration a one-time decision inside a fixed window. It was not a form a candidate could quietly fix up later. Everything else here, the dates, the fee, the eligibility rule, connects back to that one fact.
Rs 2,700
General / NC-OBC / EWS fee
CAT 2026
Rs 1,350
SC / ST / PwBD fee
CAT 2026
3 Aug 2026
Registration opened
10:00 AM, now closed
15 Sep 2026
Registration closed
5:00 PM, final
IIM Indore, this cycle's conducting institute under Convener Prof. Aditya Billore, ran the entire process through one portal, iimcat.ac.in. It offered no offline alternative at any point.
CAT 2026 registration opened on 3 August 2026 at 10:00 AM. It closed on 22 September 2026 at 5:00 PM. That window has already closed. A candidate reading this page today is past it, not approaching it.
The full exam-day, admit card and result calendar, built off that closing date, sits on the CAT 2026 dates page. This section will not repeat the same six weeks of dates twice.
A bachelor's degree with 50 percent marks, or the equivalent CGPA, qualified a general-category candidate to register for CAT 2026. SC, ST and PwBD candidates needed 45 percent. Neither figure moves for age. CAT sets no upper age limit at all.
50% for General, NC-OBC and EWS candidates. 45% for SC, ST and PwBD candidates, both per IIM Indore's Information Bulletin.
Meeting this bar got a candidate through the registration gate. It says nothing about what it takes to actually clear an institute's cutoff once the score is out. That is a separate, higher bar. The CAT 2026 overview page's cutoff section covers it.
CAT 2026 registration ran entirely online, through one official portal, iimcat.ac.in. It offered no offline or paper option at any stage. The confirmed process had a clear shape. A candidate created an account, filled in academic and category details, and uploaded a photograph and signature. The candidate then paid the registration fee. Once the candidate submitted the form and the fee cleared, they received a confirmation page.
The exact step-by-step specifics could not be re-verified
It could not independently confirm some details. These include the upload file formats accepted and the exact number of programme preferences beyond the confirmed five preferred test cities. They also include the precise OTP or verification steps on the portal. Rather than guess at specifics, it states only what IIM Indore's own bulletin actually confirms. Check the candidate's own iimcat.ac.in login, or the current Information Bulletin, for the exact field-by-field process.
Once a candidate submitted and paid, the form locked into that shape. IIM Indore opened a separate, short edit window after registration closed. That window covers only three fields. This page details them further down.
The CAT 2026 registration fee was Rs 2,700 for General, NC-OBC and EWS candidates. It was Rs 1,350 for SC, ST and PwBD candidates, per IIM Indore's Information Bulletin. A candidate paid this fee once, at the point of registration, not per institute or per preference listed.
| Category | CAT 2026 registration fee |
|---|---|
| General / NC-OBC / EWS | Rs 2,700 |
| SC / ST / PwBD | Rs 1,350 |
IIM Indore's Information Bulletin does not address whether this fee is refundable under any circumstance. It could not independently confirm this either way. A candidate needing clarity on this should check directly with IIM Indore rather than rely on a secondary source's guess.
IIM Indore's Information Bulletin does not lay out one consolidated checklist of documents for the CAT 2026 application form. It could not independently source one either. The bulletin does confirm the reservation categories: 15% SC, 7.5% ST, 27% NC-OBC, up to 10% EWS and 5% PwBD. A candidate applying under any of these would logically need a valid category certificate at some stage. This follows the way most Indian entrance exams work.
A candidate would logically need a valid SC or ST certificate to claim reservation, per the reservation structure IIM Indore's bulletin confirms. The bulletin does not state the exact format, issuing authority or validity window. It could not independently confirm these either.
A candidate would logically need a valid non-creamy-layer OBC certificate. It could not confirm the exact issuing and renewal rules.
A candidate would logically need a valid EWS certificate to claim the EWS reservation. It could not confirm the specific format and validity.
A candidate would logically need a valid disability certificate. PwBD candidates are also eligible for compensatory exam time, under CAT's stated pattern. The bulletin itself does not detail the exact documentation or the compensatory-time process.
IIM Indore has not stated any of the specifics above as official CAT 2026 requirements. These are its honest inference from the reservation structure the bulletin does confirm, and nothing more. A candidate should confirm the exact document list directly on iimcat.ac.in rather than treat this section as a checklist.
IIM Indore's Information Bulletin confirms that a candidate had to upload a photograph and signature at registration. Both are among the only fields correctable after registration closed. The bulletin does not publish exact pixel dimensions, file size limits or file format for either upload. It could not independently verify these details.
No verified photo/signature specification for CAT 2026
It will not invent pixel or file-size numbers it cannot source. Check the CAT 2026 registration portal itself, iimcat.ac.in, at the time of upload. The portal typically states its own current specification directly on the upload screen.
IIM Indore opened a correction window after the 22 September 2026 close. This window covers exactly three fields: photograph, signature, and preferred test city. CAT 2026 candidates most needed to know this before registration closed, not after. A candidate cannot change anything else on the form at this stage.
Category can never be edited after submission
IIM Indore's Information Bulletin states this directly. Category, once submitted, is not editable at any later stage, including inside the post-close correction window. A candidate who selected the wrong category at registration carries that error through to the scorecard and the admission process. This is the single highest-stakes field on the entire CAT 2026 form.
Photograph and signature corrections typically matter for image quality or a mismatch flagged at the admit card stage. Test-city correction matters more directly. A candidate whose original city preference no longer works, due to travel or a changed circumstance, gets one more chance to fix it inside this window. This chance is limited to whatever options IIM Indore makes available at that point. It is not a fresh pick across all roughly 170 cities. Full admit card detail, including what to check once a candidate downloads it, sits on the CAT 2026 admit card page.
π CAT 2026 DatesThe full exam, admit card and result calendar in one place.See the full CAT 2026 calendarποΈCAT 2026 Admit CardDownload window, steps and what to check before exam day.See admit card detailsπCAT 2026 OverviewExam pattern, eligibility, result and cutoff in one summary.See the CAT 2026 overviewAnswers to what readers ask most often.
No, CAT 2026 registration closed on 22 September 2026 at 5:00 PM. It opened on 3 August 2026 at 10:00 AM. No extension has been officially notified. Data Sources: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin (iimcat.ac.in).
The CAT 2026 registration fee is Rs 2,700 for General, NC-OBC and EWS candidates, and Rs 1,350 for SC, ST and PwBD candidates. A candidate paid this fee once, at the point of registration. Data Sources: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin (iimcat.ac.in).
No, a candidate can never edit category once they submit the CAT 2026 form. This holds true even inside the post-close correction window. That window covers only photograph, signature and test city. Data Sources: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin (iimcat.ac.in).
A candidate can correct only photograph, signature and preferred test city after CAT 2026 registration closes. No other field, including category, academic details or contact information, is editable at this stage. Data Sources: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin (iimcat.ac.in).