MSM Unify

CAT 2026 Exam Pattern

Question Paper

Updated on

By Atul Harsha, Content Manager

Exam Pattern

The CAT 2026 exam will have three timed sections with a total duration of 120 minutes. While the conducting IIM does not officially lock the question count in advance, the expected pattern is based on CAT 2025 which included 68 questions distributed as follows:
CAT 2026 Exam Pattern Infographic.webp

  • Verbal Ability & Reading Comprehension (VARC): 24 questions
  • Data Interpretation & Logical Reasoning (DILR): 22 questions
  • Quantitative Aptitude (QA): 22 questions

Important Note on Exam Pattern

The convening IIM retains full authority to modify the question count, section order, or marking scheme. Candidates should use this layout as an estimated benchmark based on recent trends.

IIM Indore officially released the CAT 2026 notification, Press Release, and Information Bulletin on July 26, 2026. The exam is being conducted by IIM Indore's Prof. Aditya Billore under the leadership of IIM Indore Director Prof. Himanshu Rai.
The bulletin explicitly confirms the overall exam duration of 120 minutes divided into three strict 40-minute sectional blocks for VARC, DILR, and QA.
The official Information Bulletin does not specify the total number of questions or the marking scheme per section for CAT Exam 2026. Conducting IIMs intentionally leave the exact question count flexible until the exam day or until the official practice mock test is released on the CAT website.

This page keeps two kinds of information apart. One is what CAT 2026 has officially mentioned. The other is what only the last four years of the exam can suggest. This page marks that as pattern, never as promise. For the fixed dates, fee and eligibility that sit around this exam pattern, see the CAT 2026 overview. For the topic-by-topic detail behind each section named below, the fuller breakdown lives on the CAT 2026 syllabus.

CAT Exam Pattern 2026: Key Highlights

120 minutes

Total exam duration

CAT 2026, officially confirmed

3

Sections, fixed order

VARC, then DILR, then QA

40 minutes

Time per section

No switching between sections

29 Nov 2026

CAT 2026 exam date

3 sessions, about 170 cities

These four figures are the entire set of exam-pattern facts. The CAT 2026 Information Bulletin and Press Release state them outright. Treat this as a closed list, not a starting point. Everything else commonly quoted about CAT's pattern is pattern data from earlier cycles. The question count is the biggest example. It covers that pattern data further down, with its own years attached.

One structural rule sits underneath all four numbers above. Once a section's 40 minutes start, a candidate works only inside that section until the clock ends. There is no option to preview or return to another section. That rule is confirmed for CAT 2026, not inferred from older cycles.

CAT 2026 Exam Pattern: Section-Wise Details

Verbal Ability and Reading Comprehension opens the CAT 2026 paper and runs for a fixed 40 minutes. Its position first in the order, and its 40-minute limit, are officially confirmed. The number of questions inside it is not confirmed.

The order itself, VARC then DILR then QA, is fixed by IIM Indore. A candidate cannot change it on exam day. A candidate cannot borrow time across sections either. Finishing VARC in 30 minutes does not add 10 minutes to DILR. Each 40-minute block closes on its own, regardless of how much of it a candidate used. Both the order and this no-carryover rule are confirmed directly for CAT 2026, not carried forward from older cycles.

CAT 2026 Questions and Marks Distribution

Not stated in the CAT 2026 Information Bulletin

The CAT 2026 Information Bulletin V2 and the Press Release do not state the total number of questions. They also do not state the total marks. Both documents are dated 26 July 2026. Duration, sections, their order and the per-section time limit are fixed and confirmed. The question count and the marks that follow from it are not confirmed.

A pattern across the last four cycles exists instead. It has been cross-checked across secondary sources and is consistent enough to be useful. Read it as a pattern, not as a 2026 fact.

YearTotal questionsVARCDILRQA
CAT 202266242022
CAT 202366242022
CAT 202468242222
CAT 202568242222

This is a secondary-source consensus for each of those four years. It is not an official count independently re-verified against each year's own bulletin. It is certainly not a confirmed figure for CAT 2026. If the marking scheme below carries over unchanged onto a 68-question paper, the arithmetic works out to 204 total marks. That is 68 multiplied by 3. That 204 is a calculation from pattern figures, not a published total. It moves the moment the question count does.

CAT 2026 Sectional Time Limit

CAT 2026 gives every candidate exactly 40 minutes per section: VARC, then DILR, then QA. The clock resets at each section boundary. Nothing carries over from a section finished early. The Information Bulletin states this limit directly. It applies identically to every candidate and every test city.

PwBD compensatory time (commonly reported, not bulletin-verified)

Recent-cycle reporting puts PwBD compensatory time at 20 extra minutes per hour, on top of the standard schedule. That works out to close to 53 minutes 20 seconds per 40-minute section. The CAT 2026 Information Bulletin does not spell out this exact figure. Treat it as the pattern recent candidates have seen, not a confirmed 2026 number. Verify the candidate's own entitlement and scribe arrangement through the CAT 2026 login.

The 5% PwBD reservation itself is confirmed for CAT 2026 admissions. The specific minutes of compensatory time added to each section still rest on pattern, not on the bulletin's own wording.

CAT 2026 Marking Scheme

The CAT 2026 Information Bulletin and Press Release do not restate a marking scheme this cycle. The table below is a recent-cycle pattern, not an official 2026 rule.

Question typeCorrect answerIncorrect answerUnattempted
MCQ+3-10
TITA (non-MCQ)+300

This exact scheme, +3/-1 on MCQs and +3/0 on TITA, held across CAT 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025. None of those four cycles had a documented change, per secondary-source pattern data. That consistency is a reasonable basis for expecting the same scheme in CAT 2026. But expectation is not the same as confirmation. It will not present it as one.

CAT 2026 Section-Wise Syllabus and Important Topics

VARC: commonly tested topics

Reading comprehension across varied subject passages, para-jumbles and paragraph completion, sentence-based critical reasoning, and vocabulary fill-in-the-blank questions.

DILR: commonly tested topics

Data Interpretation from bar, line, pie, table, caselet and mixed graphs; Logical Reasoning through seating arrangements, Venn diagrams, constraint and matching puzzles, games and tournaments, scheduling, and truth-lie problems.

QA: commonly tested topics

Arithmetic (ratios, percentages, averages, time-work, speed-distance, interest, mixtures), Algebra (linear and quadratic equations, polynomials, inequalities, logarithms, functions), Geometry (lines and angles, triangles, circles, coordinate geometry, mensuration), and Number System or Modern Math (number properties, permutations and combinations, probability, sequences and series).

These groupings come from patterns across released CAT papers, not from an official syllabus document. CAT has historically not published a fixed, topic-wise syllabus of its own. The CAT 2026 syllabus page carries the complete topic-by-topic weightage. It also shows how each area has trended across recent papers. This section is a pointer to it, not a substitute for it.

CAT Exam Pattern Changes Over the Years

  1. CAT 2022

    66 questions

    VARC 24, DILR 20, QA 22. Pattern-inferred, secondary-source consensus.

  2. CAT 2023

    66 questions

    Same split as 2022: VARC 24, DILR 20, QA 22.

  3. CAT 2024

    68 questions

    VARC 24, DILR 22, QA 22. DILR gained 2 questions over 2023.

  4. CAT 2025

    68 questions

    Same split as 2024: VARC 24, DILR 22, QA 22.

Across four recent cycles, the question count moved exactly once, between CAT 2023 and CAT 2024, and only inside DILR. VARC and QA have not changed at all in this window. That single move proves the point. Nothing about the question count is fixed by rule for any CAT year, CAT 2026 included. That is why it keeps refusing to state one as settled.

The CAT 2026 Information Bulletin confirms three things that have not changed across the same four years. These are the 120-minute duration, the 3-section fixed order, and the 40-minute, no-switching sectional structure. The stable part of the pattern is officially fixed. The part that has moved before is exactly the part left unstated for 2026.

DILR's question count moved from 20 to 22 between CAT 2023 and CAT 2024. That took the total from 66 to 68. VARC held at 24 and QA at 22 across all four years. DILR is the only section that has shifted in this window.

Across the four cycles, the pattern favours stability with one exception. DILR is the section that has moved, and it moved by 2 questions in one direction only: upward. Nothing in the CAT 2026 Information Bulletin says whether that DILR count holds, rises again, or reverts. A candidate preparing for CAT 2026 should use a range as the honest planning basis. A single number is not enough for a timing strategy. That range is 20 to 22 DILR questions, historically.

None of this changes how a CAT score turns into a percentile. It also does not change how that percentile is read against an individual IIM's minimum. For that comparison, see the CAT 2026 cutoff page. It covers category-wise and institute-wise detail separately from the exam pattern itself.

Commonly asked questions

Answers to what readers ask most often.

Q: How many questions are there in CAT 2026?

Not officially fixed for CAT 2026 as of 14 September 2026. The Information Bulletin does not state a question count for this cycle. Recent cycles have carried 66 to 68 questions: 66 in CAT 2022 and 2023, 68 in CAT 2024 and 2025. Treat any number quoted for CAT 2026 as a pattern estimate, not a bulletin fact. Data Sources: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin V2 and Press Release (silent on this figure); recent-cycle counts are secondary-source pattern data for CAT 2022-2025, not independently re-verified against each year's own bulletin.

Q: What is the total marks for CAT 2026?

Not stated in the CAT 2026 Information Bulletin. Total marks depend on both the question count and the marking scheme, and neither is officially fixed for this cycle. The recent scheme is +3/-1 for MCQ and +3/0 for TITA. If it carries over onto a 68-question paper, the arithmetic works out to 204 marks. That is a calculation, not a published total. Data Sources: Not officially published as of 14 September 2026; 204 is an arithmetic derivation from CAT 2022-2025 pattern figures.

Q: How long is the CAT 2026 exam?

CAT 2026 runs for 120 minutes, officially confirmed. It splits into three sections of 40 minutes each, VARC, DILR, then QA, in that fixed order. A candidate cannot extend one section using time saved from another. Data Sources: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin V2 and Press Release, both dated 26 July 2026.

Q: Can candidates switch between sections in CAT 2026?

No, section switching is not allowed in CAT 2026. Each of the three sections, VARC, DILR and QA, opens and closes on its own 40-minute clock in a fixed order. Once a section's time ends, there is no way back into it. Data Sources: CAT 2026 Information Bulletin V2.